Singer/songwriter/guitarist Braison Cyrus will release his debut full-length, Javelina on October 22 via Sunday Supper Records. Today, he releases the scenic lyric video for “Autumn Leaves,” a pedal-steel-laced meditation on the loss of innocence featuring Spencer Cullum of Steelism. 

The track is a prime showcase for Cyrus’s lyrical poetry as he sings: 

You see the sky from your living room/The moon’s the bride and the sun’s the groom/Lazarus is still in the tomb/He’ll never see the flowers in bloom.” 

I bought a mandolin at a garage sale and wrote that whole song on it,” Cyrus recalls. “In the end, we switched it out for guitar and added some pedal steel, and the whole thing just transformed.” 

Autumn Leaves” follows “Black Water,” the gloriously fiery epic featuring Steve Earle, and previously released album tracks “Disappear” and “Across the Great Plains.” 

On Javelina, Cyrus shares a selection of exquisitely crafted stories, telling tales of haunted souls and lovesick dreamers and hard-living characters pushed to the brink. Rooted in the nuanced lyricism that led American Songwriter to hail him as “a storyteller of epic proportions,” the album unfolds in a timeless alt-country sound informed by such eclectic touchstones as Levon Helm and spaghetti-western composer Ennio Morricone. Whether he’s spinning a tragic romance or a joyful reverie, Cyrus imbues each song with his warmly captivating vocals and the kind of indelible melodies that immediately make their way into your heart. 

Produced by Austin Jenkins (Leon Bridges, Need To Breathe, Orville Peck) and Jordan Reed (Johnny Swim, The Western Sons, Roots of a Rebellion), featuring appearances from Earle and Ben Cramer of Old Sea BrigadeJavelina came to life at the iconic Castle Recording Studios in Franklin, Tennessee. In shaping the album’s intricate arrangements, Cyrus worked closely with his bandmates Blair Winters (on drums) and Grant Winters (on bass), introducing such elements as strings and pedal steel and Hammond B3 organ while preserving the raw authenticity of his demos. “To me, it’s really important to let my band have a lot of creative control,” says Cyrus. “I wanted everyone to go in and do their own thing, and bring their own vision to everything we created.” 

Javelina Track Listing
1 – Don’t Hold Your Breath
2 – Autumn Leaves
3 – Disappear
4 – Ghost Dance
5 – Revolver 
6 – Ordinary Places
7 – Northern Sky
8 – When You Wake Up
9 – Blackwater
10 – Across The Great Plains